On the first week of Hallowtober

So, ya know how last post I was all “I’m watching a scary movie every night of Hallowtober and I’m thinking of doing mini reviews for them durr”?

I’M FOLLOWING THROUGH, HAHA!

SURPRISE!

8/1 – The Invoked

I honestly don’t know why I watched this other than it was there and I could.

Okay, I do know. I’m a sucker for found-footage movies. I KNOW they’re terrible, but they’re the sort of terrible that I really enjoy. And it’s set in Ireland, which I’m also a sucker for.

The Invoked could be exchanged for any of a number of other found-footage films wherein a group of 20-somethings break into an abandoned someplace and proceed to act like fools, thus invoking (haha see what I did thar) the violent spirits therein. The only thing new is that this movie is set in Ireland.

Don’t watch this. Unless, like me, you enjoy the aesthetic of spooky-flavoured failure.

8/2 – Vampire In Brooklyn

Is there anything that needs to be said about this? It’s a vampire movie from the 90’s, set in Brooklyn, starring Eddie Murphy in his hey-day and Angela Basset, who looks amazing despite some frightful hair. This movie is gold. Watch it.

8/3 – The Intruders (2011)

I’ve been avoiding this one on Netflix because they had it filed under psychological thrillers and I hate nothing more than having my scares turn out to be all in the characters heads. Okay, I hate snakes more. And baby wolf spiders that look like brown recluses and freak me out unnecessarily. But you know what? I didn’t hate this.

Clive Owen is broody and paternal. His movie-daughter has kind of a weird face but she’s appropriately pale and anemic looking for the genre. I was more interested in the Spanish plot line, but the story as a whole ties together well at the end. The CGI is not particularly good, but it’s better than our next contender.

8/4 – Dark Is The Night

This is sort of a monster movie? Sort of? But also somber and angsty and full of characters with deep-seated regrets and traumas they manfully try to power through. It’s like someone from Lifetime directed a SyFy Original Movie. The family is reunited in the end and the monster is horribly rendered and everything. I think I like the idea of this movie more than the actual product. It reminded me a little of Cherie Priest’s book, THOSE WHO WENT REMAIN THERE STILL, which is far more interesting and you know I should really reread that this month.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

