And now my editor thinks I’m mean.

I am annoyed by the state of my life.  Some version of “You were a very strong candidate, but we’ve decided to go with someone else” has been uttered more times than I care to count over the past six months. It’s happened with job applications. I’ve gotten it in auditions. I’ve gotten it with my writing. I guess this is just part of paying my dues but dear god I’m so sick of being almost-but-not-quite good enough.

My one bright spot – aside from making Plans for Nevermore (Mwahahahaha) – is my new reviewing gig with DC Metro. God knows I love to wield my pen in critique of others.

I am Mabel Pines. Mabel Pines is me.

I am Mabel Pines. Mabel Pines is me.

So far, the vast majority of the shows I’ve reviewed have been good. The only exception has been a community college production of The Phantom of the Opera. And dear God, that one was bad. The show was on Friday and I’m still having to rewrite the review to meet my editors standards and not hurt anyone’s feelings. Also, he wants me to bump up the star rating. And just say the Christine was having a bad day. I’ve gotta lie and I hate it. It was a bad show, even for a student production, and I don’t believe in coddling people when they’ve fucked up. They picked a show beyond their capabilities simply because the director wanted to be the first local theater to do the show and they cast a shitty actress for the female lead. But I can’t say that. That’s not how the game is played.

And now I’m having another mild existential crisis over whether or not I’m good enough to write bad reviews.

Ugh. I’m going to go play with matches and evaluate my life choices.

 

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

