Spring has arrived in Baltimore. Be prepared to wear all your clothes at once.

It was warm enough for me to start gardening last week! And then it snowed on Saturday. And now it’s in the 60’s and my windows are open. The only constant of the season is that not a day passes where I’m not improperly dressed for the weather. Solution? Layers. Layers forever.

Winter was long and hard and cold and I’m not sad to see it go. I’m still digging myself out of a mild depression that sapped me of the will-power to do much of anything besides sleep and cook. Now I’m more motivated, but also filled with several mild, daily existential crisis’ I can’t do anything about. Since being outside and physical activity have always been effective at helping me get my head on straight, my friend Katrina and planning to start walking the local nature trails, and my Manic Pixie Dream Charles has offered to help me fix my bike. Good friends have been a godsend the past few months, I gotta say.

And thanks to friends I made by getting out of the house during my run of Jekyll and Hyde, I have a sort of job now! Score one for Team Don’t Be A Shut-In. For the past two weeks, I’ve been a reviewer with DC Metro Theatre Arts, a local and well respected review site in the area. I’ve done two reviews so far, for shows which were both wonderful, and this weekend I’m going to be reviewing a show at the Kennedy Center! (!!!!) The deadlines are taking a little getting used to, but I haven’t missed one yet and my editor is super nice.

I’m slowly, slooooowly, working on my writing. The Great Funk of February (plus parts of March) stole a lot of my steam. I have a short story about witches completed, but it’s all hand written, so basically I’ve still got a LOT of work to do on it.

I’m aiming to finish the princess story in time to submit it to Tiny Owl Workshops’ Noveltinis project. I’ve been editing it so the parts that are finished are better, but the story itself STILL isn’t complete. Or rather, it WAS complete, but then I realized it was shit and tore it apart. As I seem to do with all of my large-scale projects these days.

I’m going to try get back to posting weekly updates about my writing to try keep myself on track.  Also, INSPIRATIONAL IMAGES FOREVER! I do love me some rifling around on deviantart when I’m stuck and I have a small treasure hoard of images for my stories.

And in the span of me working on this blog post, it’s gone from a beautiful, sunny day outside to a rain storm. Spring in Maryland, y’all. God help me.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

