And the verdict is….

Morgan,

….[I]t was a genuine pleasure speaking with you about your ideas and your work. Unfortunately, there were only a couple of positions to fill at this time and we weren’t able to fit you on the team. We thought you were an incredibly strong candidate and would love to work with you in the future….

Well, shit.

So, obviously, I will not be co-writing a rock opera about pirates this year. I’m bummed. This was an amazing concept that would’ve been a dream come true to work on. But I’m not too broken up about it.

I always knew it would be a bit of a long shot. I’m a good writer, but by no means am I at the top of my writing game, and there’s a lot of talent in Baltimore to compete with. There were bound to be other, more experienced writers (who’d probably actually written plays before) who applied to this show. At least I tried. I put my best foot forward at my interview and to my credit was able to make a strong impression. And that’s kind of a big deal for me. It may not be the big win I was hoping for, but it wasn’t really a loss, either. We’ll file this under “Personal Growth” and reward ourselves with a taco.

In the meanwhile, there’s a ton of other things I can do with myself. There are two auditions I’m preparing for in February – Mother’s ingenious plan to rekindle my love of acting worked, confound her! – and God knows I have enough of my own writing to focus on. I did promise myself I was finally going to dive back into Nevermore this year and I’ve got so, so many short stories to finish. I’d really like to see if I can get into a writing workshop or two and hone my craft. And I’ve got a few self-publishing plans I’m slowly working on, as well as a collaboration with my brother for a Thing…. It’s never boring around here.

And hey, this way I’m free to audition for a role as a murderous pirate bride when the show goes up! Silver linings, guys. Silver linings.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

