Collaborative Efforts

Soooo, I applied for a thing. It’s a super cool thing. A really frickin’ AWESOME thing. It’s so awesome, the fact that I’d be doing it for free is a non-issue. That is how amazing this thing I’ve applied for it. I really hope I get it. I probably won’t. But I might. I can’t talk about it too much because the thought of not getting makes me want to cry forever and I’m in public right now. Small children and their parents probably don’t want to be guided around the museum by a sobbing mess, muttering intermittently about pirates and feminism and sociopaths singing sea shanties.

A key part of this awesome thing – and one of the reasons why I don’t think I’ll get it – is collaboration. I’d be part of a writing team. I…don’t have a lot of experience with that. And historically, I don’t always play well with others (granted, that’s usually because the ‘others’ aren’t pulling their weight or they’re idiots). It’s something I’ve been working on since last year, though, so if I am accepted, I probably won’t destroy my co-collaborators with the power of my mind just for disliking an idea I propose.

But now, with the possibility(threat) of teamwork looming over me, I’m making a more concentrated effort to improve my attitude and adjust the course of my creative process.

To help me with my goal, my friend Parker has taken it upon herself to be my cowriter of a series of poems written during the course of Jekyll and Hyde (she plays the role of Spider). Behold the first fruits of our collective labor!

Shit, my cape has gout.
How do you cure stage fright, friend?
I think you should die.

I am so fucked.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

