the healing process

I count your recovery in days. In weeks. In months.
It’s in how long you sleep
in every task you no longer need my help with
and how often you cry.
It’s in the days where there is no pain.
Those days are few but growing
I think.

Today has been a good day.
So far.
But I cannot rest
cannot breathe
until the day is over and you’re asleep.
Only then can I cross today off the calender,
make a new mark under the tally of good days,
and sleep an uneasy sleep until you call for me again
needing me
starting a bad day
full of pain I can’t ease.

Today has been a good day so far.
And yesterday was almost good.
I try to focus on that
and remember the taste of your satisfaction.
I am almost certain there are more good days now.
Tonight I’ll dream of days without even the memory of pain
or of struggle and frustration and weakness.
I’ll dream of days when you’ll be well again
And when I’ll be unafraid of the morning.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

