*insert appropriate title here*

Hi there.

How’s 2014 treating you so far? Good? Good.

The past few months have been more than a little crazy here at Casa Maria.

The act of leaving my old job without hurting anyone’s feelings while also leaving the door open in case I needed to go back was a bit of a balancing act. When the process of doing that didn’t sap me of my mental and emotional energy, the act of still being there did.

Then I was stage managing, prop making, and performing in a children’s opera (which went very well, I’ll have you know!).

And then on December 9th, my mom had a stroke. Aaaaand everything went to shit. Long, looooong story short, my mom lost use of her entire left side but is recovering really really well, she’s free of the abusive rehab facility she got sent to once released from the hospital, lots of support has poured in from some very unexpected corners, and she’s even going back to work already albeit in a reduced capacity. But we’re still having to deal with all the bullshit that got her blood pressure high enough to cause the stroke in the first place on top of all the new things, like continued physical and occupational therapy, being her full time caregiver, an $11,000 medical bill and a radically reduced income.

So, yeah. Updates are going to be few and far between on this blog. I’m trying to get back on Twitter more often but to be frank, I have so few fucks to give about social media right now, I may as well join a convent. Several people have asked how they can help my family right now and if any of you want to help, the easiest and most useful thing is, quite honestly, money. A family friend set up a GoFundMe page for mom which has already helped pay the mortgage and keep our lights and heat on during consecutive snow storms. I know money is tight for everyone these days, especially in the aftermath of the holidays, but anything you can spare would be appreciated more than you can possibly imagine. I am willing to do blog requests: flash fictions of the subject/genre of your choosing, cupcake recipes, videos of my cats being adorable little bastards, pictures of myself wearing ridiculous hats, etc.

So that’s my life. Send help if you can. If you can’t, I get it. Have a picture of Magellan visiting Mom in the rehab facility, on the house.

Image

 

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

