Weekend Update 9/30

Sorry for the long absence, but the past two weeks have been awful. Normally, I’d rant at least a little about what’s been going on, but almost all of it involves my job, and knowing how easily my bosses could find this blog if they were so inclined*, I’m supremely hesitant to go into it.

Suffice to say, writing has been removed even from the back-burner and is sitting on a shelf next to a jewelry box I was making. They sit together and mock me in the dark night.

I’ve tried to keep up the writing, but it’s been hard and I have no idea how much progress I’ve made, if any. The next couple of weeks probably aren’t going to be much better, as stuff with work probably isn’t going to get better any time soon AND I’ve got college applications and what not to get out into the world.

There are a few updates, though.

I submitted the short story I finished to a magazine, and while it wasn’t accepted, that same day I was invited to read it at Projection Speaker Series #3 this December. I’ll be re-writing it, this time as a fictional radio drama, and there will be cartoons projected on a wall because why the hell not. It will probably be ridiculous and awkward and I’ll likely be wearing a funny hat for at least part of the night. I’m going to be optimistic and excited about this for the next few months until the deadline is upon me and I fall into and frantic panic.

Other than that, there’s nothing else to say. Hopefully there will be more writing to write about next week.

*I’m not kidding. The president of my company sits in his office and reads everyone’s email correspondence. Given how often I’ve emailed documents at work to my home address for future use, (I work for a financial counseling agency and we have lists of local resources that I find really useful), it wouldn’t surprise me if he or one of my supervisors went looking for this strange Maria D’Isidoro person. *shifty eyes*

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

