Experimenting with accountability.

I’ve started noticing some writers doing a cool thing on their blogs. Amid their usual posts, they periodically post updates about their writing: what they’re working on, how it’s progressing, how many words they wrote this week, how far past their deadline they are, etc. And I thought that it was a pretty cool management tool. Like a food diary, only people actually care about it.

Since I don’t have an editor or an agent or a critique partner to crack the whip over me and impose dealines, I don’t always have a lot of motivation to finish my projects on any sort of reasonable timetable. Sometimes I write a couple thousand words each day. Sometimes, I only get a few hundred words out in a whole week. When I see how little writing I get done laid out in front of me, though, I feel a greater push to work on it more. Things like Clarion and NaNoWriMo help me be better about this, so I’m commandeering this technique in hopes I’ll get the same effect.  

I’m working on a format that isn’t too confusing and thinking about the best days to post on. I’d like to do weekly updates, since my output varies a lot. Of course, y’all know how good I am at blogging with any regularity, so we’ll see how well that works. Whatever, it’ll be good practice for keeping to a schedule.

I’ll probably update on Sunday or Monday evenings as, after thinking about my current work and social schedules, those are the nights I’m most often free. This upcoming week will probably just be an introductory post, stating what I’m working on, how close each project is to completion, and what my long- and short-term goals are.

So my fingers are crossed that this will become a regular thing that regularly helps. And even if it doesn’t, you’ll get the pleasure of reading a post or two about what I’m up to, written in unwanted detail.

Are you excited? I’m excited.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

