Doll House Update!

Remember when I posted pictures of a doll house I was constructing from a kit a few months back? (You can see them here if you’ve forgotten.) I thought it was time to check in on it’s progress.

Tada!

IMG_20130217_220631   IMG_20130217_220649   IMG_20130217_220607

I had a hell of a time picking out the color scheme I wanted for this first house, and then figuring out how to paint everything without dismantling the model completely. There were some moments I doubted the entire enterprise (and some more where I had to take the roof off repeatedly.) . I think I’ve managed pretty well for a first attempt, though I’ve definitely compiled a list of “do not attempt”s for future models. More importantly, I’ve devised an order-of-operations to follow to make some of the nitty-gritty stuff easier.

As you can see, not everything in the front is painted yet. I’m also still on the fence about a few color placements, but I’m waiting until the concept is further actualized before I change anything else.

IMG_20130217_220541

It was hard to get a good picture of the interior – I’m going to try again later, just for my own records/portfolio/whatever – but I’m really proud of it. Using a combination of paints and My Mind’s Eye scrap-booking paper, I’ve got the basic interior design complete. I’ve got some doll furniture sold by the same company that made the house ready to be put to use, too.

But since I apparently hate making my life easy, I’ve still got a ton of work to do on this house before it’s done and I’m happy.

I’ve always wanted a haunted doll house. Originally, that was what this house was going to be, with Gothic colors and fake toy cobwebs all around. Maybe some blood spatter at the bottom of the steps and tiny chains in the attic. And then I went to the Bordertown book club at Faericon last year and Ellen Kushner made a passing request for fanart. And then she started posting pictures to Twitter and Tumblr of abandoned buildings that reminded her of Bordertown. And then I started devising how to make this a Bordertown house.

Before you start criticizing me for spending my pittance of money on useless fan shit, go read WELCOME TO BORDERTOWN and then get back to me. The Bordertown world raises the bar on fantasy and it’s more than worthy of the $40-something I’ve spent on supplies.

I need to age the place some both inside and out, and make it look a wee bit more disheveled. I’ve also got some model moss to strategically glue on and in the house. There’s a baggie just out of frame of these pictures filled with other materials and objects that are going to find their way inside eventually. I half want to finish this asap so I can start another house, but I also want to take my time with this to get it as right as my mediocre crafting skills can get it. Thankfully, my work and volunteering schedule has already dictated that I must adhere to the latter.

I’ve developed a pretty solid concept of what I want to do in each room, but if anyone has suggestions about what to include or tips about, well, anything craft-related, I’d love to hear from you.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doll House Update!

  1. House Charm says:

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site – Doll House Update! maria d. before but after looking at some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

