Fang-girling

I just started rereading the Sookie Stackhouse books lately. They’re my guilty pleasure books and I usually enjoy them even when other fans think they suck. I’m in this lovely weird place where I’m enough of a fan to want to want to finish the series but not so fangirly that things really get to me.

I’ve wondered how Charlaine Harris planned to tie up the Sookie Stackhouse story for a while now – there is no easy ending – and personally, I’ve always felt that the only way to really close the door is to either kill Sookie off, or have Eric turn her. I’m not entirely thrilled with either option for my own bizarre, nonsensical reasons, but I could live with them happily enough. Like I said; not that involved. And with Harris’ recent announcement that she would be ending the series soon, I’ve jumped back into the books, trying to catch up and reacquaint myself with this world. Book 12 was released this month and I haven’t been able to get my hands on it yet, so I’ve been rummaging through the interwebs for spoilers. And for the first time, I’m about ready to shit a brick.

Apparently, there’s a strong set up for Sookie to end up with Sam in the final book, to which I say no. No, Charlaine Harris. You are not going to do this to us. You are not going to make us love Bill, and then Eric to the nth degree, and drag Sookie through all these different men, just to have her end up with the one who’s wanted her since before the vampires even came out AND HAS FAILED TO MAKE A MOVE IN ALL THE YEARS HE’S KNOWN HER UNLESS IT’S TO PISS OFF HER CURRENT BOYFRIEND. WE ARE NOT DOING THIS, DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME? FHW%YH^#H^%#YWGF&QE%&(J^#GEWW@WQWERTY&$%#()IIHNFOK [capslock rage disengaged]

I try to stay chill about books I like, and trust the author to know their characters best and know what best to do with and for them. But if Sookie finally ends up with Sam after 13 books, that is going to leave a very bad taste in my mouth. Team Eric, guys. You know he’s the most interesting man in the world. Replace the awesome older gentleman in those Dos Equis commercials with Alexander Skaarsgard as Eric Northman. It would work. And the Most Interesting Man must get the heroine.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

