Cake in a Cup! (MOAR BAKING)

This is, what, the third post about baking I’ve done in a row? We are baking fiends over here at Casa Maria. I promise, I’ll blog about something else after this. Pinky swear and everything.

Mom went out to lunch with an old friend yesterday and returned with chocolate mousse for me (om) and a recipe for chocolate cake in a mug. Let me reiterate that in case you missed the full implication of what I’m saying.

Chocolate cake. Baked in a mug.

Thus it is cake that can be baked at any time (midnight cake woo!), without an oven, all for you. This recipe is the greatest thing ever and I must share.*

You will need:

  • 4 tbs. flour
  • 1/4 t. baking powder
  • 4 tbs. sugar
  • 2 tbs. cocoa
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 3 tbs. milk
  • 3 tbs. oil

Mix dry ingredients with wet and pour into a mug (if you haven’t mixed them in a mug already).

Microwave on high for approx. 3 minutes and let sit. Tip onto a plate and enjoy!

Mom woke me up this morning demanding that we try out this recipe and have chocolate cake for breakfast. Because it was early and I’m insane in the mornings (as well as every other time of the day) I was not as enthused about this as I should’ve been. Regardless, we made this in about 5 or 6 minutes. And it was good. My only issue with it is that it dries out pretty quickly, but Mom and I intend to experiment to the fullest extent of our pantry to make it appropriately moist and delicious.

Er, not my best bit of cell phone photography to be sure. But it tastes good anyway!

We’re also assuming that we can use this recipe – modified a little – to make other types of cakes in cups. Rum cakes, spice cakes, white, yellow, and angels food cake, apple bundt, cherry cordial, etc. And then, when I hold my cupcake party later this semester, oh, my guests will be so delightfully confused as they’re presented with delicious little personal pan cakes!

(Hmm, that really doesn’t work without the full affect of alliteration. How about… coffee cup cakes? Yeah, that works for me.)

Anyway, here be the last post about baking (for a while, at least). As always, go forth and bake, my fine interweb friends! The path to diabetes and larger pant sizes lies on these pages.

*I don’t know where she got this recipe from. I think she said she found it online. If anyone knows where it came from, please let me know so I can give them credit for an awesome recipe.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

