Cupcakes Galore!

Somehow, since the Cherry Garcia cake (which everyone LOVES, btw) I’ve become the official baker for gathering and group events. This is a fabulous albeit time consuming task, but you know what? I can dig it. It also helps that there’s preliminary talk of me getting a job out of it. 😉

I’m developing a baking style which I’m lovingly terming ‘baccalaureate baking,’ because it’s all about short cuts, but still involves enough thought to make it more meaningful than a standard Betty Crocker box cake(not that there’s anything wrong with box cakes or Betty Crocker. Please feed me. I need your love.).

Yesterday, I was elbow deep in batter, making two types of cupcakes: pink lemonade cupcakes and key lime cupcakes.

First things first. The pink lemonade cupcakes (with blueberry vanilla icing)!

Behold the regimented masses! Bow before their deliciousness!

  • 1  (6-ounce) can frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed
  • 1  (18.25-ounce) package white cake mix
  • 1  (8-ounce) carton sour cream
  • 1  (3-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 3  large eggs

Mix all this good stuff together, beat until the clumps of cream cheese get really small (or, preferably, non-existent), pour into cupcake molds and bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes. Poke with a fork to check center, and if it comes out clean, it’s done.

Admittedly, I only had 6 ounces of sour cream, but they turned out fine anyway.

Round Two: The keylime cupcakes!

Considering the color scheme, I really should've figured this out for Christmas.

  • 1  (6-ounce) can frozen limeade concentrate, thawed
  • 1  (18.25-ounce) package white cake mix
  • 4 eggs
  • liberal sprinklings of raspberry sugar.
  • 3 ounces of cream cheese

Mix all of the above together until the mix is smooth and bake at 350 for approx. 30 minutes. Poke it in the center to check when it’s done; if the fork/toothpick comes away from the cupcake clean, take them out to cool. Then EAT THEM!

I was going to post the recipe for the icings I made, but honestly, they really didn’t work with the tang of the cupcakes. Next time, I’m going to try a meringue icing, since I think that would best compliment the deliciousness of the cupcakes. Really, these things are an explosion of tasty flavor, and meringue may be the only topping that won’t conflict.

With the formalities over, I bid thee – go forth and bake, my internet friends!

 

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cupcakes Galore!

  1. leighbakes says:

    These sound really creative–quick but tasty! I’m lovin’ the clever use of juice concentrate and cream cheese. I might need to give it a try….

    • I hope you do! They’re pretty easy to make and they taste amazing – I’ve used juice in the paste for hints of flavor, but using concentrate really gives it kick. If you do try them, could you let me know what sort of icing you used and how you thought the tastes worked together? I’m really curious about what other people will top it with and how they think the flavors work together.

Leave a Reply

