Typhoid Mary Syndrome

I’ve been sick since Thursday – I won’t disgust anyone with the details – and as often happens when I feel terrible, I am overcome with a need to bake. However, aside from the initial worry about spreading my germs to the rest of the household, there’s also the concern about what the heck it is I’m baking.

Maria D'Isidoro
Maria_Disidoro Maria D’Isidoro
People need to stop letting me bake late at night. My judgment gets iffy & I start making delicious abominations.

Switch out ‘at night’ with ‘sick’ and you’ll be closer to the truth.
The problem is not that what I make tastes bad; thankfully, I inherited my mothers ability to salvage almost any recipe, especially with regards to baked goods. Rather, I don’t think through all my ingredient choices as thoroughly as I should. So, I almost invariably end up baking things that taste delicious…but in a really weird, acquired taste sort of way.
Case in point: The Cherry Garcia Cake.
Starting with a box of Betty Crocker chocolate cake mix (because that’s how I roll), I substituted the 1 1/3 cup of water with french vanilla coffee and the 1/3 cup of vegetable oil with Kaluha. What? Stop looking at me like that.
Mix, pop that sucker in the oven per instructions on the back of the box, and you’re good to go with your new and improved mocha cake. It looked a little weird coming out of the oven, but it tasted delicious and icing is there to cover the fugliness.
Okay, the icing is where I really needed to take a minute to make sure I knew what I was doing. But that’s the risk you run when baking while ill (BWI, if you will).
I mixed a tub of cool whip with a can of pie cherries (so far so good), the chocolate chips I found lurking in the back of the fridge (cold, but still chocolaty), and two boxes of cheese cake pudding mix (sounds tasty and – wait, what?).
It's so pink and chocolaty!

Cherry Garcia Cake

The cheesecake pudding mix was inspired by one of my favorite desserts: Green Stuff, which involves mixing pistachio pudding mix with Cool Whip and other delicious things. I somehow got the idea to do the same thing with cheesecake pudding mic. However, it wasn’t until after I’d poured the mix onto the Cool Whip that I remembered a crucial detail; cheesecake pudding is kind of gross in a major way.
*facepalm*
Thankfully, my addition of the cherries and chocolate chips, along with the inherent delicious of Cool Whip, managed to make this cake pretty darn delicious. Now, I have to go grab a slice before Matt finishes exacting his Ingredients Toll – he bought the Cool Whip and cherries – and devours the cake whole.
About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

