History Homework Hell

Holy son of a crack whore. *falls over*

Starting my third week of school and I’m already struggling with my reading for History 102. First of all, I have the old edition of the book, which means the 4 chapters we’ve been assigned to read so far are actually 6 chapters in my book. And the reading is so dry! Like cheese left out on the counter overnight! Which reminds me, I should probably make sure everything is put away from dinner tonight…. But I digress.

I’ve always been a little bit of a history buff, so I already know a lot of what’s being discussed in class: absolutism, the scientific revolution, slave trade, etc. What I consistently have trouble reconciling in my poor little fluffy head is how everything interrelates and coexists in time periods. And this book is not helping me at all.

My normal course of action in years past has been to watch History Channel religiously; I often learn history better from documentaries than reading. But lately, HC has had a lot of Hitler and Nazi shows and prehistory documentaries. These are not the droids I’m looking for.

So I’m asking for help here. Does anyone know of online documentaries or other resources I can watch for free? I know from my art history class that some museums and universities have free databases with documentaries and the like; I’m looking for recommendations for free videos about western civilization from the Renaissance on up to twentieth century. Please help a beleaguered and frustrated college student!

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

