Same old song and dance…

Last week was the first in the new (and hopefully my last) semester of school. My rundown for the next couple of weeks:

Art History 2: Our research project for the semester is to research and interview a local artist, research the artists that inspired them, and write a blog for one of the local arts and culture blogs in Baltimore, Radar Redux. OR, if you’re an introverted shut-in like myself, there’s the option to write a plain old research paper. I think I’m gonna flip a coin about this.

My history 102  research project involves creating a timeline/scrapbook about a famous event or person. If you pick a person, you scrapbook from the mothers’ perspective. The example my teacher gave us on the syllabus was Hitler’s mother. I love my teacher.

Gallery and Museum Curation has the possibility of becoming my most favoritist class ever (I’m a writer I can make up words shut up) or being the bane of my academic existence. It’s a small class – there are only six of us – and we meet once a week for three hours. We have a bunch of field trips, get to help curate the student show at the end of the year, and curate our very own shows for Artscape using local artists on the East Coast (provided the board of directors likes our ideas). Lots of work. Looooots of work with a potentially AWESOME outcome.

Fencing is fantastic. I’ve never gotten along with my classmates so quickly before. But then again, I’ve never been in a class made up entirely of dorks who love sharp, pointy objects. My teacher is a tiny woman in her 70’s who showed up to our first class in a Grinch t-shirt and pink velor sweat pants waving a saber. I think I love her. This weeks homework assignment: get someone to take a picture of me wearing my fencing helmet for my Facebook profile picture.

About Morgan Maria D'Isidoro

Morgan Maria D'Isidoro has lived in Baltimore, MD for most of her life, saving a handful of failed escape attempts. Given the murder rates, she'll probably die here too. Morgan is a writer of speculative fiction and poetry, a musician of dubious quality, cat aficionado, art history fangirl, kitchen sorceress, recovering pyromaniac, accomplished liar, and an all around person of questionable employability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

